British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   NZ Plumbers (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/nz-plumbers-509236/)

psa2570 Jan 26th 2008 11:58 am

NZ Plumbers

Hi there y'all,

I'm a Plumber here in GB (Tavistock), i retrained last year intensively and did my City & Guilds Level 2 at a GOLA certified centre in Kent.

We would like to, nay dearly love to, emigrate out to NZ with me as the principal applicant. My OH :wub: is a Teacher and we can come out on her degree but would rather not, so that she can spend time with the kids while they integrate into NZ schools, lifestyle, etc.

Any info, hints, tips anyone has on what GB level of qual' is needed to achieve a NZ Level 4 (NZ PGDB minimum standard), also has anybody managed to gain provisional registration with PGDB and work/train with a NZ Plumbing firm to achieve the desired level ? :confused:

I look forward to hearing from you all.
Cheery bye for now,
Paul.

cally49 Jan 26th 2008 8:39 pm

Re: NZ Plumbers

Hi there just a quick hello and to let you know that "Bevs here" knows loads about this i am sure she will pop in when she has time. In the meantime you may be able to do a search for some of her posts.
Have a nice weekend.
Cheers
Cally:)

BEVS Jan 28th 2008 1:50 am

Originally Posted by psa2570 (Post 5841565)

I'm a Plumber here in GB (Tavistock), i retrained last year intensively and did my City & Guilds Level 2 at a GOLA certified centre in Kent.

HHmm. Well done to you.

We would like to, nay dearly love to, emigrate out to NZ with me as the principal applicant. My OH :wub: is a Teacher and we can come out on her degree but would rather not, so that she can spend time with the kids while they integrate into NZ schools, lifestyle, etc.

You may find coming out on her quals easier and quicker to be honest.