Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

NZ ( Dunedin) or Australia (Perth .Adelaide)

NZ ( Dunedin) or Australia (Perth .Adelaide)

Old Oct 15th 2013, 5:13 pm
Just Joined

The Johnsons is an unknown quantity at this point
Default NZ ( Dunedin) or Australia (Perth .Adelaide)

Hi, I am a qualified medical nurse and me and my family are interested in living in New Zealand, or Australia, could you tell me what Dunedin is like and if you think it's preferable to say Perth, or Adelaide, our other choices.
Old Oct 23rd 2013, 2:21 am
`

BEVS has disabled reputation
Default Re: NZ ( Dunedin) or Australia (Perth .Adelaide)

Per my post to your Australia thread.

It would be best if you looked at your visa possibilities first.

Your OH is a plumber. Plumbers are not considered to be in shortage here in NZ at the present time. So , unless you had New Zealand residency ,any NZ employer is going to have to prove there is no NZ resident or citizen that could take up that employment.

Work in this trade is picking up but there have been several slow and hard years . My husband is a time served plumber and gasfitter. That's how we know.

Also, your OH would really need to be deemed eligible for NZ registration to work properly in the trade. Please browse and contact the PGDB
This may well mean he needs to sit an exam and have a practical assessment. This may cost quite a lot of $$$.

The good news here is that Medical Nurses are in long term shortage here in NZ. You would need to become registered. Please read HERE
Old Oct 23rd 2013, 4:23 am
BE Enthusiast