British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Nursing in New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/nursing-new-zealand-913643/)

Samo89 Jun 6th 2018 7:42 am

Nursing in New Zealand

Hello, i am looking for some information in regards to a temporary move to New Zealand to work as a nurse and wondered if anyone could help me?

Me and my husband are right at the start of research so lots of things to look at and think about.
I currently work as a practice nurse and thinking about doing my nurse prescribing before we move, how difficult is it to get a practice nurse job? Are most of the jobs available hospital work?

What is the annual income (for full time) for a nurse in NZ? How many weeks holiday do you get? We are thinking of Auckland area and would like to be near some nice beaches etc, what are the best areas for this and are they generally near nursing work?

My husband is currently a fireman and know that finding the same job out there would be near impossible so he is thinking of training as a gym instructor/personal trainer. Are these jobs hard to come by and whats the pay like?

We also have a dog and would want to bring him with us, has anyone exported their pet out with them? It is difficult and expensive?

Would it be difficult to get temporary accommodation that would allow pets?

Can you use your UK drivers license out there, what are transport links like?

Thank you, any help would be much appreciate.

inkedneonurse Jun 6th 2018 8:25 am

Re: Nursing in New Zealand

Blimey will try af answer some questions