British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   New Zealand or Australia? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/new-zealand-australia-802822/)

sarah.herod Jul 14th 2013 9:26 am

New Zealand or Australia?

We are emigrating next year, initially we looked into Oz however after leaving the NZ an Oz Expo in Birmingham yesterday we were warmed to NZ, now we are confused as what would be the best move for our family! We live in Bury I am an Ambulance Driver an Stuart is a roofer, we have 2 children aged 2 and 11, we want a better lifestyle for our family, we want the children to be children, we want to open a world of opportunities to them, we are a hard working family an we are aware in neither country the streets are paved with gold, we know it will be hard work wherever we end up, we don't know what to do!!! Arghhhh 😜

MrsFychan Jul 14th 2013 10:04 am

Re: New Zealand or Australia?

hard questions as OZ and NZ are so different from each other.

think your best bet is to look at both requirement needs to obtain visa's and possibly the cost.

not sure on the logistic's of how easy it is to in and out of OZ but costs of travel from NZ to anywhere is high and cost of living can be high because of the high costs of imports

Purrball Jul 14th 2013 11:15 am

Originally Posted by sarah.herod (Post 10799255)
we want the children to be children, we want to open a world of opportunities to them

New Zealand may be many things, but it's not a world of opportunities. There's a good reason why approx. quarter of the population of Kiwis live abroad.

It can be a great place for kids to grow up in terms of outdoors living, but there's also a lot of bullying and a high teenage suicide rate. It's also relatively isolated and parochial.