British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   New Graduate Advice (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/new-graduate-advice-512063/)

whattodo2 Feb 5th 2008 7:35 pm

New Graduate Advice

Hi

I was just wondering if any one on this forum emigrated in their mid-twenties after having graduated from university, and what their experience was like. I'm planning on initially arriving on a 12 month working holiday visa and if everything works out applying for a skilled migrant visa (without a job offer I only have 100 points at the moment). If anyone has done something similar and could offer advice it would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

happynz Feb 5th 2008 7:37 pm

Re: New Graduate Advice

Jeez, you are young and educated. No worries. Just come on out and have a go.

Annemarie85 Feb 7th 2008 10:23 am

I am in the same situation, I graduated last June and I am now thinking of the move. I am a bit more apprehensive about coming over after reading this forum and other bits on the internet.

Having been brought up in the UK, it is installed into us that the aim in life is to make money, live in a big house with a big car. I think the culture shock will be huge, yet at the same time I can see myself been happy there. I just need to decide which country to do my PGCE (Teaching) in. In the UK you get money to do this whereas in NZ you have to pay to do this.

Anyhow, I will keep reading around this forum and recommend that my parents have a read as they are thinking of making the move.

happynz Feb 7th 2008 5:57 pm

Originally Posted by Annemarie85 (Post 5898527)
I am in the same situation, I graduated last June and I am now thinking of the move. I am a bit more apprehensive about coming over after reading this forum and other bits on the internet.

Just come on down and see with your own two eyes, feel the grass between your toes and sniff the sea-breeze.