Reload this Page >

new to this all????

new to this all????

Old Mar 20th 2008, 2:34 pm
Just Joined

the3ofus is an unknown quantity at this point
Default new to this all????

Hi to everyone

As the title suggest I am new to this and I havent a clue to be honest but I am hoping that there is someone that will be able to give me some help and advice.

My partner, 5year old daughter and myself are looking to start a new life in NZ.

My Partner has the opportunity to work as a correction officer and we gained some info about visa through a recent expo in Belfast.

He has a psych test to do over the phone in a few weeks time and then hopefully an interview in NZ not long after that. We are hoping all goes well and then we will apply for the sponsorship visa with help from the immigration company we spoke to at the expo.

My questions to you are in no particular order-:

If he is successful at the interview and is offered the job,will it be required to have a medical and police check carried out. If so how long do these usually take????

Can we get police checks and medicals done now or not????

Do we need proof of visa before shipping our house contents???? We had a guy out this morning who passed comment that we would need this.

He aslo stated that it would take 6-8 weeks for items to arrive but if we OH gets the job we would need to be in NZ long before that............How do I work this?????

If OH gets the job and is given a start date to be started in a matter of weeks where do I begin with things what do I do first????

What is the school terms like in NZ My daughter turned 5 in Feb and will be finishing year one in June??

We are looking to moving to Wanguani area can anyone advise on schools and areas to live?

I am aware that if OH gets the job we will have to go through a work residency visa and update every three years.

I know this can happen very quickly and I am just a little confused by it all.