British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Moving to NZ (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/moving-nz-400542/)

Dilan Oct 5th 2006 5:02 pm

Moving to NZ

Hi there

I'm sure this question has been cained to death, so apologies in advance ;) , but me and my OH were thinking of moving to NZ and was wondering what people's real life experiences were, as opposed to what you read on the immigration websites.

I work in IT...at the moment, I am a Network Manager in London overseeing a small team of network administrators. I have a non-IT Uni degree, and several tertiary qualifications such as Microsoft MCP's and Cisco CCNA. I'm on the equivalent of £38,000 in London now.

OH works in Occupation Therapy for the NHS, but has no qualifications. She is on £20,000.

London is just getting far too expensive, esp the housing and travel, and I can't see any corresponding increase in quality. In fact, it's just getting worse.

We have friends in NZ (and family) and were thinking of moving over for a year to see how it goes.

i) What is the traffic/congestion like in Auckland/Wellington?
ii) For jobs, does Auckland have more opportunities, or is it Wellington?
iii) Would my OH be able to get a job in the Health service, or are qualifications a necessity over experience?
iv) What are the tax levels like?
v) What is the cost of renting/buying a 2 bed flat in Auck/Wellington
vi) Any disadvantages of moving to NZ that people come across?

Thanks so much in advance!

newkiwi Oct 5th 2006 8:19 pm

Re: Moving to NZ

Originally Posted by Dilan
Hi there

I'm sure this question has been cained to death, so apologies in advance ;) , but me and my OH were thinking of moving to NZ and was wondering what people's real life experiences were, as opposed to what you read on the immigration websites.