British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Moving Money from UK to NZ (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/moving-money-uk-nz-737169/)

wellingtonboot Oct 28th 2011 8:22 pm

Moving Money from UK to NZ

mods - I didnt post this in the money section on purpose Please don't move it.

Hi all,

This topic has featured often but I have still not drawn a solid conclusion. I find it staggering how bad / difficult it is to move money abroad - this is not just a NZ thing. There is a lot of archived info from this site in particular which is simply incorrect and I would like to try to promote a sticky for the best and right answers to this problem as we all have to do it.

I have spent the whole time since I have arrived (4 days) researching this topic. Its even more interesting as I am a part time forex trader.

Here is my story.... Before I left the UK I went to setup a SWIFT payment (£25 charge) on my Nationwide online account only for Nationwide to turn round and tell me I need to print off the form it generates and post it. I cannot believe how antequated Nationwide are.

I also tried Travelex who cannot process my payment (which would have been on a fairly good rate and only 99p commission and pay by debit card) because they cannot find me on the electoral register in the UK (they use experian search).

I looked at Western Union but thought it wasn't for me (xe is actually owned by western union)

On top of this, as I study the financial markets I saw NZD was pushing upto $2 so left it and came over to NZ.

Now I am here I have researched this forum and several others regarding money transfers. The top suggested people were xe.com and hifx and ozforex.