British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   mosquitos (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/mosquitos-374370/)

waynepfry May 18th 2006 8:21 pm

mosquitos

hi first time for me in the forum

my name is jane not good on a computer, can u tell - will get better. The other thing I'm not good with is mosquitos. We have a love/hate relationship. They love me I hate them. Are there many in New Zealand - especially near Auckland? I need to lose weight but not by being eaten alive! :scared:

thebears May 18th 2006 8:43 pm

Re: mosquitos

Originally Posted by waynepfry

my name is jane not good on a computer, can u tell - will get better. The other thing I'm not good with is mosquitos. We have a love/hate relationship. They love me I hate them. Are there many in New Zealand - especially near Auckland? I need to lose weight but not by being eaten alive! :scared:

Eat marmite - this is a Maori trick and works well. They are deterred by the smell that comes through the skin.

Living close to the coast and away from still water also helps.

Kiwi

waynepfry May 18th 2006 9:12 pm

Cheers for the advice :) - planning to live near the coast and will steer clear of still water. Hate marmite though but 2 out of 3 ain't bad! They really do love me though - hope there aren't as many as there are in Greece!!!! :(

SarahB May 19th 2006 2:33 am

We definately had a bigger mossie problem where we lived in the UK compared to where we are in Auckland.

Its not them you wanna worry about..... its the sand flies.... now they ARE evil!
:D

planty May 19th 2006 9:56 am

Originally Posted by thebears
Eat marmite - this is a Maori trick and works well. They are deterred by the smell that comes through the skin.

Living close to the coast and away from still water also helps.

Kiwi

Isn't it something to do with the vitamin B that's in Marmite?