Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Midwifery in New Zealand

Midwifery in New Zealand

Old Mar 11th 2007, 7:17 pm
Novapye

Novapye is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Midwifery in New Zealand

Hi all, I'm new to this site. I am a direct entry student midwife currently in my second year. My partner and I talk a lot about moving to NZ when I qualify but we don't know the in's and out's of the process. If anyone can give me an insight into the process and whether I would need experience before applying or moving would be a great help.

Thank you.
Old Mar 12th 2007, 3:30 pm
BE Forum Addict

Sammy T has a reputation beyond reputeSammy T has a reputation beyond reputeSammy T has a reputation beyond reputeSammy T has a reputation beyond reputeSammy T has a reputation beyond reputeSammy T has a reputation beyond reputeSammy T has a reputation beyond reputeSammy T has a reputation beyond reputeSammy T has a reputation beyond reputeSammy T has a reputation beyond reputeSammy T has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Midwifery in New Zealand

Hi

I'm not an expert on this but I am a midwife/nurse and have been looking at all this via internet. So far I have gleaned that from a visa point of view - midwives in demand, get more points on visa for how many of experience you have and extra points for job offer etc
From the www.midwiferycouncil.org.nz:
Need verification from NMC
Transcript of programme inc birth numbers, theory/practical hours ect
CV/Resume of post reg ed, experience and job history
A self assessment form to complete
Police reports
Medical check
Refs
And not least 1000 NZD!
Thers' plenty of info on their website so take a look. I know they (visa) like you to have experience in your job but I also know that a newly qualified midwife who went after only 6 months UK experience but she had been out on holiday and did some interviews out there to gain a job offer and therefore got her visa fairly quickly.