Reload this Page >

job registration (secondary teacher)... need help

job registration (secondary teacher)... need help

Old Jun 3rd 2011, 3:45 pm
Just Joined

marjan912 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default job registration (secondary teacher)... need help

Hi
I am happy to be one of the members of this forum.
I have some questions to ask.
I have a bachelor degree in Teaching English ( TSOL). I am from Persia and English is a second language in my country. I have 8 years experience as a full time teacher in high school.
Please help me by answering each following questions that u know:

1: Teachers should register in teacher council of NZ. I am not sure they register me as an English teacher, because i have heard that they register native speakers of English as English teachers. Despite of what NZ officials declare in their rules, but some teachers that teach in NZ says that there is no occupation for nonnative teachers in teaching English in real world. Is that really so?
2: Is registry mandatory for teachers to apply EOI?
3: If it s not mandatory, will i lose any points?

I fill EOI form for practice, and i think only people who want to claim for bonus points of absolute skill shortage should provide registration, according column 4 in long term skills that mentions:
In order to claim bonus points for qualifications in an area of absolute skill shortage under the Skilled Migrant Category, applicants must meet the following specifications: Bachelors degree (or equivalent) with a major
in a NZ teaching subject
AND a secondary teaching qualification recognized for registration purposes by the New Zealand Teachers Council OR a four year Bachelor of Education/Teaching (Secondary) with a major in a NZ teaching subject

Please help me if u have some experience in this regard.
Thank you
Old Jun 3rd 2011, 4:18 pm
Just Joined

Default Re: job regestration (secondary teacher)... need help

Originally Posted by marjan912 View Post
Hi