Job Offer

Old Nov 14th 2005, 10:18 am
VP - Rangers Support Club

theduke has a brilliant futuretheduke has a brilliant futuretheduke has a brilliant futuretheduke has a brilliant futuretheduke has a brilliant futuretheduke has a brilliant futuretheduke has a brilliant future
Default Job Offer

I am looking for some advice:

I have been offered a good job in an Auckland district by a large building company, I have everything in writing from them. I am a Quantity Surveyor for your information.

The question I have is that they obviously want me over asap, I have intimated a start the end of Jan begining of Feb 06, I have been told to go for a work visa in the meantime for speed and then go for residency once I am there.

Has anyone any suggestions or experience of this?

Thanks
Andy
Old Nov 14th 2005, 8:18 pm
Forum Regular

Michelle & Chris will become famous soon enoughMichelle & Chris will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Job Offer

Hi Andy

My husband has also just been offered a job in Auckland and we are being put through on a talent visa by the company (which is an accredited company), which speeds things up considerably. If they want you by Feb 06 it sounds like you maybe going through on the same kind of visa. If so my understanding is that PR can be attained much more quickly, within 2 years as opposed to 5yrs.(forgive me if I'm wrong its all still quite new to us to) but I think that's correct. Check it out with the company, they should be able to confirm things for you.

We have been really surprised at the speed things have moved. Chris had 2 interviews via telephone and was offered both positions. One company wanted him to start Feb 06 but the one we have accepted has been much more flexible about a start date, as we have not yet sold our house.

Where abouts in Auckland will you be working?

Congratulations on the job offer by the way.

Lots of mad planning ahead... :scared:

Cheers

Michelle
Old Nov 15th 2005, 1:16 am
livewire