British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Job Hunting from UK or in NZ (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/job-hunting-uk-nz-923113/)

jemetpl Mar 11th 2019 1:28 pm

Job Hunting from UK or in NZ

I am just starting to look for a job in NZ with a view to moving from August onwards. I had a Skype call with a recruitment company yesterday and they suggested that I would be more likely to succeed by spending a couple of months in NZ as a tourist looking and interviewing. My skills are transferrable (I'm a qualified accountant) and I'm probably looking at a mid range role (head of finance to finance business partner) rather than a Finance Director level post.

Just wondering if anyone has had any experience of this sort of job search and whether it's possible to succeed just searching from the UK or whether there is a much better change if I'm in NZ.

Also to clarify that I wouldn't have a problem in taking a couple of months off to do this and so it's really just about the relative likelihood of success.

Moses2013 Mar 11th 2019 2:15 pm

Re: Job Hunting from UK or in NZ

Originally Posted by jemetpl (Post 12651445)
I am just starting to look for a job in NZ with a view to moving from August onwards. I had a Skype call with a recruitment company yesterday and they suggested that I would be more likely to succeed by spending a couple of months in NZ as a tourist looking and interviewing. My skills are transferrable (I'm a qualified accountant) and I'm probably looking at a mid range role (head of finance to finance business partner) rather than a Finance Director level post.

Just wondering if anyone has had any experience of this sort of job search and whether it's possible to succeed just searching from the UK or whether there is a much better change if I'm in NZ.