Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

I need a new challenge...my story

I need a new challenge...my story

Old Aug 4th 2008, 8:52 pm
Just Joined

CurlyJack1980 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default I need a new challenge...my story

Hello everyone im Jack, 28, single male born and bread in England. I have managed to get myself a job at Whistler Blackcomb this winter which will last a minimum of 6 months, my visa is for 12months.
Now i know many many people may ask these same questions but im slowly getting through all the articles and discussions so im sorry if these kind of questions bother people.

I have been working for Royal Mail for almost 7 years and lately my life just seems boring, ground hog day so to speak. All my friends are settling down in relationships, marriage, buying their own house with a partner and having children. This is great and im happy for them, but guess what im the one whos missing out. I feel that im stuck in a rut and need to get out!
I am single, only renting a house and have no commitments(family have told me to go for it) when it comes to mortgage,family etc. So i applied through CCUSA and BUNAC and chose the working in Canada programme. Royal mail offer "career breaks" that start at one year and can be extended to 3 years so I can go through with this.

Now i know i might not fit into any skilled workers categories but i passed secondary school with 8 GCSE's and obtained a BTEC national diploma in engineering when i went to college. Unfortunatly this didnt lead to any work in the required field as i was in the "too experienced and not enough experience" for every job and course i applied for at that age, which really got me down.