British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Husband wants to move to NZ, I don't want to go! (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/husband-wants-move-nz-i-dont-want-go-771719/)

Micheline Sep 16th 2012 8:59 am

Husband wants to move to NZ, I don't want to go!

Hello,

Although NZ sounds fantastic and 2 galleries are willing to represent me (I'm an artist), the sudden realisation that this may really happen (all our paperwork came in) has sent me into panic mode. I have read many blogs of people who have gone abroad not wanting to, and then discovering that they like it. My case is a bit different in as much as this is the 6th follow I do for my husband. Each time I come to "like" the locations but not without a lot of hard work in building friendships etc. . As soon as I finally get settled into a community, it seems it's time to go again. This time, it comes at a big cost. I have an artistic reputation in my area and have built very good friendships. Having suffered a burn out when first came to the present one (stress of it all), I was lucky to pull through so wonderfully. I am panicked with this move...so far away, and I don't want to go. Anyone else that is on their 6th or more moving abroad experience? Many thanks, Micheline

MrsFychan Sep 16th 2012 9:42 am

Re: Husband wants to move to NZ, I don't want to go!

can't you just talk to your husband and tell him enough is enough. do you have children to consider?

My husband wanted out of UK for any years and did apply for a couple of countries but I never felt they were going to be good for the whole family so told him NO.
He cannot take the final decision for you it has to be your's and he should respect that.

What does he do or does he need you to get a job. Have you looked at how easy it would be?

Micheline Sep 16th 2012 9:57 am