How to...UK TV

Old Jan 29th 2016, 10:37 pm
  #31  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 48
allyokay is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to...UK TV

Originally Posted by jmh View Post
What sort of modem/router do you have? Which unblocking company are you using?

I wouldn't change anything unless you are experiencing problems. Some DNS providers seem to be on top of it.
Nether NF4V and I'm using Cactus VPN

Nether???? Ahh! Netgear! ha ha !
allyokay is offline  
Old Jan 30th 2016, 1:19 am
  #32  
It is what it is Member
 
simonsi's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Blockhouse Bay, Auckland
Posts: 2,797
simonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond reputesimonsi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to...UK TV

Originally Posted by allyokay View Post
Nether NF4V and I'm using Cactus VPN

Nether???? Ahh! Netgear! ha ha !
Bet its a Netcomm ;-)
simonsi is offline  
Old Jan 30th 2016, 1:53 am
  #33  
jmh
BE Forum Addict
 
jmh's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: South Auckland
Posts: 2,228
jmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond reputejmh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to...UK TV

Originally Posted by allyokay View Post
Looks like Netflix have waged war on VPN services, from what I read the way forward is to change the DNS settings on your modem??? Is that right? Does anyone know what you change them to? Or better still had anyone got a link that will step by step show you what to do?
If Netflix has stopped working, first try changing the ip address you are using - you can do this via the app on your ipad. You could try logging out and in again too. This might be enough to reset it.

If that doesn't work, you could try using Smart DNS, which might be included in your package. You can set it up on your modem, laptop or smart tv. Details here: https://www.cactusvpn.com/smart-dns-setup-tutorials/

That's all I have set up and I haven't had a problem accessing Netflix. Other more technical work arounds are available if it's still not working and you'll find these in the link I made earlier. I suggest you contact Cactus to see if they can help. Providers seem to be coping with this quite well, and some of the smaller ones are not being targetted (yet).

Last edited by jmh; Jan 30th 2016 at 1:58 am.
jmh is offline  
Old Feb 2nd 2016, 10:55 am
  #34  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 2
frankcaffrey is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to...UK TV

Not a fan of unblock-us, they have very complex dialer, and support team is quite moody. I waited for unblock.com to launch and they haven't launched yet. Leave me no choice but purchase purevpn.com for bbc iplayer and uk tv. and so far experience is good.
frankcaffrey is offline  
Old Feb 2nd 2016, 11:05 am
  #35  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 48
allyokay is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to...UK TV

DNS4me.net is great I'm trailing it at the moment. Doesn't cost too much either. By the way, thanks JMH for the advice.
allyokay is offline  
Old Feb 4th 2016, 3:50 am
  #36  
BE Enthusiast
 
SSky's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 305
SSky has a reputation beyond reputeSSky has a reputation beyond reputeSSky has a reputation beyond reputeSSky has a reputation beyond reputeSSky has a reputation beyond reputeSSky has a reputation beyond reputeSSky has a reputation beyond reputeSSky has a reputation beyond reputeSSky has a reputation beyond reputeSSky has a reputation beyond reputeSSky has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to...UK TV

I just use Hulu, and I can access what I want.
SSky is offline  
Old Feb 4th 2016, 9:13 am
  #37  
Forum Regular
 
pleccy2000's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Wellington
Posts: 123
pleccy2000 is just really nicepleccy2000 is just really nicepleccy2000 is just really nicepleccy2000 is just really nicepleccy2000 is just really nicepleccy2000 is just really nicepleccy2000 is just really nicepleccy2000 is just really nicepleccy2000 is just really nicepleccy2000 is just really nicepleccy2000 is just really nice
Default Re: How to...UK TV

Originally Posted by frankcaffrey View Post
Not a fan of unblock-us, they have very complex dialer, and support team is quite moody. I waited for unblock.com to launch and they haven't launched yet. Leave me no choice but purchase purevpn.com for bbc iplayer and uk tv. and so far experience is good.
I don't understand why it's complex. All I do is click on the unblock-us icon and choose 'connect' or 'disconnect'. It couldn't be more simple!!
pleccy2000 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.