British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Hello from Dunners (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/hello-dunners-598561/)

vetnurse1 Mar 19th 2009 8:19 am

Hello from Dunners

Hi all

Am enjoying reading the posts here on the trials and tribulations of emigration and starting life in a new country! Brings back memories.
We've been here in NZ for 4 years, spent two in West Auckland (west-side!!!) (never got the black jeans and mullet though) and are now in sunny Dunedin (ok, not always sunny but we do get sun down here you know). I worked as a vet nurse in Auckland and now teach vet nursing in Otago, husband has a franchise business.
We moved from Leicestershire in 2005. Have 2 kids (a 19 year old son who has left home now, living in Invercargill (couldn't do that in the UK cos he couldnt afford to)) and my daughter is 10.
Moved onto a lifestyle block in West Otago for a couple of years but decided that they should be called 'no lifestyle' blocks cos we seemed to be forever weeding, fencing, worrying about feed for the animals etc etc you get the picture....
Now living in coastal Otago and loving it here. Be great to hear from any other members in Dunners.

weejie Mar 19th 2009 10:13 am

Re: Hello from Dunners

Welcome to BE forum. Will be arriving in Dunners 4th July and looking forward to it. I am a psychiatric nurse who will be working at Dunedin Hospital,OH is a H&S officer but will look for a job once we get there,2 boys age 9 and 6.

Phyl x

southerner Mar 19th 2009 8:27 pm

Hi from me too.

We've been out here 5 or so years now, although I am originally a born and bred southerner who married an English lass, and the rest is history. Glad to see you are enjoying Dunedin life.

SLH Mar 20th 2009 2:40 am

Hi from me too

Been in Dunedin almost 6 years, me, OH and 12 year old daughter. Have done lots around and about the South Island. :thumbsup: