British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Getting legally qualified in NZ (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/getting-legally-qualified-nz-668411/)

Chick-a-dee May 16th 2010 2:11 pm

Getting legally qualified in NZ

After several changes of plan, we've decided that we're moving to NZ in 2-3 years time (hubby is a kiwi).

We've just got back from a month out there and have decided on the Bay of Plenty - possibly Bethlehem.

I figure if I'm going to move to the other side of the world, I may as well go for a complete change and have a whole new career! I've been working in marketing for the last 14 years, but do actually have a law degree. I'm now thinking about furthering my legal studies in NZ to work in that field.

Are there any ex-pats in NZ who have info on getting legally qualified to work in NZ (post-grad) and also what it's like finding work and actually working as a solicitor in NZ compared to the UK?

I'm shorty going to get my degree assessed and then take it from there, as I may be able to complete some of the studies whilst still in the UK. I sense that there is no point in doing my LPC here, as I'd rather just learn NZ law to avoid any confusion.:unsure:

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

debsnotdebbie May 17th 2010 2:04 am

Re: Getting legally qualified in NZ

Originally Posted by Chick-a-dee (Post 8568468)
After several changes of plan, we've decided that we're moving to NZ in 2-3 years time (hubby is a kiwi).

We've just got back from a month out there and have decided on the Bay of Plenty - possibly Bethlehem.

I figure if I'm going to move to the other side of the world, I may as well go for a complete change and have a whole new career! I've been working in marketing for the last 14 years, but do actually have a law degree. I'm now thinking about furthering my legal studies in NZ to work in that field.