Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

Old Jan 2nd 2013, 10:34 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 48
SuffolkbritinNZ will become famous soon enough
Default Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

I brought a plasma TV in NZ this year with built-in Freeview.
Silly question I know, but can anyone tell me if this TV will connect to Freeview in UK?? Thanks
SuffolkbritinNZ is offline  
Old Jan 3rd 2013, 12:04 am
  #2  
221b Baker Street
 
Sherlock Holmes's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Miles from anywhere, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 14,125
Sherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

Originally Posted by SuffolkbritinNZ View Post
I brought a plasma TV in NZ this year with built-in Freeview.
Silly question I know, but can anyone tell me if this TV will connect to Freeview in UK?? Thanks
Not quite sure if the receiver will work but no problem with electrics. I think set top boxes in UK now are cheap as chips so you could buy one and hook it up.

You might want to ask in the moving back to the UK forum.
Sherlock Holmes is offline  
Old Jan 3rd 2013, 12:19 am
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 48
SuffolkbritinNZ will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

Ok will do...thank you!
SuffolkbritinNZ is offline  
Old Jan 3rd 2013, 12:55 am
  #4  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Whangaparaoa
Posts: 458
GoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

Originally Posted by SuffolkbritinNZ View Post
I brought a plasma TV in NZ this year with built-in Freeview.
Silly question I know, but can anyone tell me if this TV will connect to Freeview in UK?? Thanks
I strongly doubt it. They operate off different frequencies.
GoingIn2011 is offline  
Old Jan 3rd 2013, 1:20 am
  #5  
221b Baker Street
 
Sherlock Holmes's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Miles from anywhere, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 14,125
Sherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

Further: You can look to see if your tele has country codes within its set up. Mine does, bought here and has all sorts of European options to choose from.

Even if that doesn't work or doesn't have the facility, you can use it as a second TV for watching DVDs etc. And as stated, with an AV or hdmi connection, you can buy a UK freeview box thingy.

If it cost you a bit and you taking your other possessions, it's well worth taking. What second hand value would it have in NZ?
Sherlock Holmes is offline  
Old Jan 3rd 2013, 2:05 am
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Whangaparaoa
Posts: 458
GoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond reputeGoingIn2011 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

Originally Posted by SuffolkbritinNZ View Post
Ok will do...thank you!
If you are in Auckland, we may make you an offer
GoingIn2011 is offline  
Old Jan 3rd 2013, 10:16 pm
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Torbay, North Shore
Posts: 744
janeyk has a reputation beyond reputejaneyk has a reputation beyond reputejaneyk has a reputation beyond reputejaneyk has a reputation beyond reputejaneyk has a reputation beyond reputejaneyk has a reputation beyond reputejaneyk has a reputation beyond reputejaneyk has a reputation beyond reputejaneyk has a reputation beyond reputejaneyk has a reputation beyond reputejaneyk has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

We have used our nz tv through a uk freeview bkx fine no issues
janeyk is offline  
Old Jan 10th 2013, 12:36 am
  #8  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: near Heathrow
Posts: 36
krisby has much to be proud ofkrisby has much to be proud ofkrisby has much to be proud ofkrisby has much to be proud ofkrisby has much to be proud ofkrisby has much to be proud ofkrisby has much to be proud ofkrisby has much to be proud ofkrisby has much to be proud ofkrisby has much to be proud ofkrisby has much to be proud of
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

I believe it used to be a problem with analogue TVs as the sound frequency was broadcast on a different channel, but not so much with digital, it should work. We took a TV to NZ and could only receive sky on it, TV aerial did not work, however, we bought an LCD back from NZ that did work on the aerial, no built in freeview though so don't know if that worked.
krisby is offline  
Old Jan 10th 2013, 9:26 am
  #9  
Forum Regular
 
turkeys's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Was Alicetown NZ, now Whitstable UK
Posts: 211
turkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

I brought a flat screen tv back to UK and have hooked up a freeview box no problem. In fact the Wii, laptop and other stuff were all bought in NZ and used here. We just have a lot of daft plug adaptors everywhere! On and I can never find the £ sign on the laptop!
turkeys is offline  
Old Jan 10th 2013, 12:13 pm
  #10  
221b Baker Street
 
Sherlock Holmes's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Miles from anywhere, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 14,125
Sherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond reputeSherlock Holmes has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

Originally Posted by turkeys View Post
I brought a flat screen tv back to UK and have hooked up a freeview box no problem. In fact the Wii, laptop and other stuff were all bought in NZ and used here. We just have a lot of daft plug adaptors everywhere! On and I can never find the £ sign on the laptop!
for a £ sign, hold the alt key and type in 156 on the number pad.

Last edited by Sherlock Holmes; Jan 10th 2013 at 12:47 pm.
Sherlock Holmes is offline  
Old Jan 10th 2013, 11:20 pm
  #11  
Forum Regular
 
turkeys's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Was Alicetown NZ, now Whitstable UK
Posts: 211
turkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of lightturkeys is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

Mac's eh! Reminds me if this sketch from Peter Serafinowicz
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BGGOn-H7s3Q
turkeys is offline  
Old Jan 12th 2013, 9:46 pm
  #12  
BE Enthusiast
 
shirl's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: UK Devon
Posts: 914
shirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

Originally Posted by turkeys View Post
I brought a flat screen tv back to UK and have hooked up a freeview box no problem. In fact the Wii, laptop and other stuff were all bought in NZ and used here. We just have a lot of daft plug adaptors everywhere! On and I can never find the £ sign on the laptop!
Shift + 3 works on my mac for a £ and on my laptop running windows 7 too but you have to enable the keyboard and change it to English United Kingdom not Australia or USA! I just googled it all today and did it on both Mac and Windows!
shirl is offline  
Old Jan 13th 2013, 11:13 pm
  #13  
.
 
Snap Shot's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Posts: 2,744
Snap Shot has a reputation beyond reputeSnap Shot has a reputation beyond reputeSnap Shot has a reputation beyond reputeSnap Shot has a reputation beyond reputeSnap Shot has a reputation beyond reputeSnap Shot has a reputation beyond reputeSnap Shot has a reputation beyond reputeSnap Shot has a reputation beyond reputeSnap Shot has a reputation beyond reputeSnap Shot has a reputation beyond reputeSnap Shot has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

Hiya Shirl,

How are you ? How was a proper winter Christmas ? How's it all going ?
Snap Shot is offline  
Old Jan 14th 2013, 7:10 am
  #14  
BE Enthusiast
 
shirl's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: UK Devon
Posts: 914
shirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond reputeshirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

Originally Posted by Snap Shot View Post
Hiya Shirl,

How are you ? How was a proper winter Christmas ? How's it all going ?
I am good thanks, Christmas was a let down, not because of the weather but we had a broken boiler so no hot water or central heating for a week, you know what it is like trying to get parts at that time of year. We had to boil kettles and go back to basics but the tree was up and the lights were twinkling since the first weekend of December which is not heard from from me normally! usually up and down in a week!

Job front has been a nightmare, but hubby finally managed to get a job after 6 months and I have just waved him off on his first day, he was reluctant as he was liking being home I think but being 60 this year I think he was ready for semi retirement, he enjoyed his job so much in NZ and had it for life so I feel really horrid dragging him back as I don,t think he will get the same cushy ride here as he had there! but we keep getting emails saying we can always come back as they valued him highly and I must say it has crossed our minds once or twice but not sure if we can afford to be ping pong poms!!!! So we will see how it goes from here I have no job and am going to do a writing course, always promised myself I would try and write a book so I am going to do that and see how it pans out.
Shirl x
shirl is offline  
Old Jan 14th 2013, 7:55 am
  #15  
NZ wannabe
 
Synky's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Glasgow, UK
Posts: 255
Synky is a name known to allSynky is a name known to allSynky is a name known to allSynky is a name known to allSynky is a name known to allSynky is a name known to allSynky is a name known to allSynky is a name known to allSynky is a name known to allSynky is a name known to allSynky is a name known to all
Default Re: Does NZ Freeview TV work in UK?

Go for the writing! The sense of accomplishment when you finally finish it is great. If you need any advice on how to keep going just ask.
Synky is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.