British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Coming Home..excited and scared with lots of questions (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/coming-home-excited-scared-lots-questions-922062/)

kiwigirl78 Feb 14th 2019 11:44 am

Coming Home..excited and scared with lots of questions

Hi Everyone

After 15 years away I am finally going to be coming back home, I am so excited but also scared. My husband who is British is making the move with me and although he is also excited, we are both a little nervous, we are not moving until January 2020 so still a lot of time to plan and I am sure I will have a lot of questions for everyone on here. it is so nice reading how helpful everyone is.

a few questions to start off....

Question 1
Plan is that we start out in Auckland for a few months to see what the job situation is like, I work in finance and hope to have my level 4 AAT by the time we move, my husband is a Network Architect, is it best to register with agencies or apply for positions directly, over here as soon as you put your name down you have a job interviews lined up.

Question 2
Does anyone have suggestions of where to look in Auckland, we don't have children and would love an area that we can go for walks etc.... close to amenities but not ridiculously expensive. It also sounds silly but I would prefer no where near Avonddale as I am terrified of spiders...lol

Question 3
We initially want to do a short term let of about 6 months with a furnished place, does anyone have a recommendation of a good agency to use?

Question 4