BEIJING SUCKS....BUT....

BEIJING SUCKS....BUT....

Old Sep 4th 2011, 11:46 pm
Just Joined

MartinJapan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default BEIJING SUCKS....BUT....

Hi,

I'm new here, so a quick introduction.

I'm British, my wife Japanese. We live in Japan where I work as an English teacher and my wife an accountant. I have a background in science and would like to get back into laboratory work. We both love nature and want to leave Japan. We could go to the UK, but thought we'd give NZ a shot first.

For people living in our part of the world, NZ visa applications are handled through the Beijing branch. Or perhaps I should say 'mishandled' through the Beijing branch. Here is a brief summary of our story so far:

April 2009: Submitted our EOI.
May 2009: Our EOI was selected from the Pool and we were invited to apply for Residence. Deadline set, 31st August 2009.
4th August 2009: Having spent 3 months pulling together medical checks, police checks, evidence of qualifications, etc., we submitted our Residence Visa application, and payment, beating the deadline by nearly a month.
September 2009: Our Visa Advisor contacted us for the first time. Then, silence.

Now, we expected this process to take a while. According to our research on the web, applicants' general experiences seemed to indicate a year to 18 months to go through the process....

April 2010: 1 year after submitting our EOI, our second Visa Advisor contacted us to tell us he was going to set up a telephone interview in the next few weeks.

Great, we thought. Progress.

Then, silence. Strings of emails from me were never responded to, until...

August 2010: Our third Visa Advisor got in touch to inform us that, like our first Visa Advisor, our second Visa Advisor had also been transferred to another section and that he, our third Visa Advisor, would now be handling our case. I informed #3 that #2 had informed us that our telephone interview was imminent. Then, silence.