Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Auckland or Wellington

Auckland or Wellington

Old Nov 21st 2009, 11:44 am
Forum Regular

DavenHelen is a name known to allDavenHelen is a name known to allDavenHelen is a name known to allDavenHelen is a name known to allDavenHelen is a name known to allDavenHelen is a name known to allDavenHelen is a name known to allDavenHelen is a name known to allDavenHelen is a name known to allDavenHelen is a name known to allDavenHelen is a name known to all
Default Auckland or Wellington

Right now EOI has been selected (without job offer)& the process has started we are now thinking more about the possibility of our new life in New Zealand.
I work in IT (Data warehousing) and my job opporunities are going to be either Wellington or Auckland City Centres. We both worked in NZ on < 30 visas over 10 years ago for 6 months & wanted to come back, now we have kids (5 &8) we have got the wheels in motion.

We were initially thinking of Wellington & living north near the Paraparaumu trainline into town. I don't want a long commute < 40 mins but unsure what areas to choose.

We previously lived in Auckland and lived in MT Eden which was great, now thinking of the North Shore or Browns bay area but I don't want to be stuck in traffic on the bridge every day!

I know the weather is better in Auckland and both cities have access to the country and fantastic beaches and can offer our family the quality of life we are after, just unsure which one we should go for.

Can any one suggest some fantastic family suburbs of either city that are an easy commute into the city centre. I would also love to cycle in < 20 miles as I currently do that in the uk a couple of days per week, but not sure if I could do that in Wellington or Auckland.
Old Nov 21st 2009, 7:57 pm
BE Forum Addict