Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Which areas to live in Auckland that have a surfing/beach life community?

Which areas to live in Auckland that have a surfing/beach life community?

Old Mar 20th 2016, 8:19 am
Just Joined

cornwall2auckland is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Which areas to live in Auckland that have a surfing/beach life community?

Hello,
We grew up in a surfing/beach life community in Cornwall, UK. Can anyone recommend an area to live in Auckland that has that similar kind of vibe? Also, i'm an Artist & have heard that Devonport has an Arty vibe? To be recommended the kind of places that have these elements would be great. It would give us a helping hand in finding where we would be happiest setting up home.
Old Mar 20th 2016, 9:10 am
Forum Regular

A Rush And A Push has a reputation beyond reputeA Rush And A Push has a reputation beyond reputeA Rush And A Push has a reputation beyond reputeA Rush And A Push has a reputation beyond reputeA Rush And A Push has a reputation beyond reputeA Rush And A Push has a reputation beyond reputeA Rush And A Push has a reputation beyond reputeA Rush And A Push has a reputation beyond reputeA Rush And A Push has a reputation beyond reputeA Rush And A Push has a reputation beyond reputeA Rush And A Push has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Which areas to live in Auckland that have a surfing/beach life community?

Piha on the west coast of Auckland, very well-known surfing beach, beautiful and a lot of artists live out that way. Also Karekare and Muriwai, both on the west coast too. They are quite far out from the centre though, 45-60 mins from CBD if anyone would be working in town. Very limited shops etc, think Piha and Muriwai have a cafe, dairy (corner shop) and takeaway each. Karekare no shops. Probably 30 minutes drive to a supermarket from any of them.