British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   New Zealand (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/)
-   -   Anyone live in the area of gisborne? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/new-zealand-83/anyone-live-area-gisborne-684197/)

tkirya Sep 5th 2010 7:53 pm

Anyone live in the area of gisborne?

We have been trying to decide which area to live in if we are successful.:fingerscrossed:
we have looked at gisborne and like the look of it.:)
i am a nurse and OH is a police officer.
anyone know if that area is as nice as it seems? :confused:
we also liked bay of plenty and rotorua, any feedback welcome.
thank guys ;)

Boopy Sep 6th 2010 2:54 am

Re: Anyone live in the area of gisborne?

Originally Posted by tkirya (Post 8828188)
We have been trying to decide which area to live in if we are successful.:fingerscrossed:
thank guys ;)

Gisborne is lovely, but..... it's way out in the sticks & not much there. As an RN myself, I would suggest either Rotorua & BOP. Just my opinion....

Browner_ Sep 7th 2010 6:58 am

thank guys ;)

If your other half is a policeman, then there should be plenty of work for him in Gisborne, thats for sure. About the only work there is out there.

Genesis Sep 7th 2010 10:04 am

Originally Posted by Browner_ (Post 8831114)
If your other half is a policeman, then there should be plenty of work for him in Gisborne, thats for sure. About the only work there is out there.

From what I know its extremely isolated and extremely beautiful. Work is scant but if you are in nursing and policing you stand a chance of getting work. However EVEN nursing jobs are getting hard to find. Not sure it is that easy in NZ for police to chose their areas like you could in the UK (I am ex UK plod). Kate is a nurse and she is always saying how our local DHB is now no longer recruiting nurses because of NZ nursing cut backs. Also heard many of the Gisborne folk are on the social and that lots of whacky baccy gets smoked up there.