Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Another NZ vs. Canada Thread (With some details)

Another NZ vs. Canada Thread (With some details)

Old Aug 13th 2013, 1:14 pm
Just Joined

iopyud is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Another NZ vs. Canada Thread (With some details)

Hello all,

Basically, I'm thinking of getting an MBA and a post-graduation work permit afterwards because you-guessed it : I'm aiming for an eventual permanent residency.

I have 5 years actual work experience and my highest qualification is a degree in Bachelor of Arts.

I'm from South East Asia (Philippines to be more specific).

I'm currently in the middle of extensive research and would very much appreciate ANY information (even if not inquired).

Now, my questions are as follows:

1.) I am under the impression (based on info obtained from the net) that it's easier to get a study permit in New Zealand than in Canada and post-grad work permit as well... is this true?

I've heard (from a Indian-majority forum, helpful guys) Canada is very strict and often issues "study mismatch" if your desired program is not connected to your previous qualification.

2.) How is the JOB MARKET? This has me worried, NZ seems to be more welcoming but I'm under the impression that it's a little more difficult to find a job there(NZ) than in Canada due to NZ being smaller and 'farther' away from the international market.

This is vital as I don't want to run out of funds (after graduation) merely looking for a job and eventually being forced to return home. This is the absolute worse that can happen to me.

3.) Not as important but how similar/different are the outdoors and views of each country? I've always admired Canada's south-western region's beauty (through pictures =,c ), and was wondering if NZ has similar sites? I'm talking about pine trees, clear waters, snow-capped mountains, etc.