Student moving to amsterdam

Old Jun 28th 2017, 12:20 pm
Just Joined

halesvd is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Student moving to amsterdam

Hi there
I am a student moving to work as an intern in amsterdam for 5 months. The first five months I won't be paid but the second 5 months I will be paid.
Does anyone know if I would have to pay some sort of tax for living and working here.
Kind Regards
Old Jun 30th 2017, 5:03 pm
BE Enthusiast

Red_Wine_Fairy has a reputation beyond reputeRed_Wine_Fairy has a reputation beyond reputeRed_Wine_Fairy has a reputation beyond reputeRed_Wine_Fairy has a reputation beyond reputeRed_Wine_Fairy has a reputation beyond reputeRed_Wine_Fairy has a reputation beyond reputeRed_Wine_Fairy has a reputation beyond reputeRed_Wine_Fairy has a reputation beyond reputeRed_Wine_Fairy has a reputation beyond reputeRed_Wine_Fairy has a reputation beyond reputeRed_Wine_Fairy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Student moving to amsterdam

Tax, no. But internship = working, which means you will require health insurance. On the plus side, the Dutch tax authority will help you to pay it while you're unwaged, even if you haven't paid into the system. Quick calculation = 100 per month insurance, 80 back from the taxman = cost to you 20 euros.

Your other commitment is to register legally as a resident with your local town hall, but you need to do this anyway to access your BSN (for health insurance) and DigiD (for accessing the tax or any other official website). Oh, and to legally deregister on leaving.

Your main focus should therefore be on securing affordable accommodation which in Amsterdam is a total nightmare. Best of luck!
Old Jun 30th 2017, 5:12 pm
Just Joined

halesvd is an unknown quantity at this point

Thank you!!!
Old Jun 30th 2017, 8:30 pm
BE Enthusiast