Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Old Feb 29th 2016, 3:07 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 66
manchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

I have a desktop PC that I would like to bring to the UK... will it work over there? My laptop works fine, but I have no idea if the PC will.

Thanks.
manchester2016 is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 3:42 pm
  #2  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 3,338
durham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Look at the specs for the power requirement of the PC, you should be able to find them on-line for the brand of PC you have if they are not printed somewhere on the PC itself. If it says something like 110v - 220v then it will work (frequency doesn't matter in this case, 50Hz or 60Hz)

ETA
If it only works on 110v then you can buy an adapter that will step the voltage down to 110v in the UK

http://www.batteryjunction.com/sestt...BivxoCCP7w_wcB

Amazon Amazon

Last edited by durham_lad; Feb 29th 2016 at 3:45 pm.
durham_lad is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 4:54 pm
  #3  
WhiteRabbit
 
rebeccajo's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,480
rebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Usually the power supply needs changed out.
rebeccajo is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 5:00 pm
  #4  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 66
manchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

This is the power supply in the PC: CORSAIR CX series CX600M 600W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC CP-9020060-NA Power Supply - Newegg.com

Buying a new one when I get to the UK and swapping it is not a major problem... but if I can just use a step-down adapter for 12 pounds or so, I would be happy to do that.. are there any risks with that? it is a high-end gaming PC.
manchester2016 is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 5:05 pm
  #5  
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 50,351
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Originally Posted by manchester2016 View Post
Buying a new one when I get to the UK and swapping it is not a major problem... but if I can just use a step-down adapter for 12 pounds or so, I would be happy to do that.. are there any risks with that? it is a high-end gaming PC.
IMO those adapters are cheap junk for temporary use when traveling. If you have several thousand dollars invested in a high-end gaming PC, why trust it to a $12 adapter?

ETA If you are certain that is the power supply it is rated for 100v-240v and 47Hz-60Hz, so you just need a British plug or power cord.

Last edited by Pulaski; Feb 29th 2016 at 5:07 pm.
Pulaski is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 5:06 pm
  #6  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 66
manchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
IMO those adapters are cheap junk for temporary use when traveling. If you have several thousand dollars invested in a high-end gaming PC, why trust it to a $12 adapter?
Agreed. Thanks.
manchester2016 is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 5:09 pm
  #7  
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 50,351
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Originally Posted by manchester2016 View Post
Agreed. Thanks.
I added to my post above - some good news for you!
Pulaski is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 5:11 pm
  #8  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 66
manchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
IMO those adapters are cheap junk for temporary use when traveling. If you have several thousand dollars invested in a high-end gaming PC, why trust it to a $12 adapter?

ETA If you are certain that is the power supply it is rated for 100v-240v and 47Hz-60Hz, so you just need a British plug or power cord.
I am 100% certain, I pulled that link out of my order confirmation email from NewEgg directly.
manchester2016 is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 5:14 pm
  #9  
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 50,351
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Originally Posted by manchester2016 View Post
I am 100% certain, I pulled that link out of my order confirmation email from NewEgg directly.
OK, because the product specs in the link you posted say it's good for 240V.
Pulaski is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 5:46 pm
  #10  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 3,338
durham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
OK, because the product specs in the link you posted say it's good for 240V.
+1

You'll have no problem using a simple plug adapter (no step-down transformer needed).
durham_lad is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 5:50 pm
  #11  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 66
manchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Originally Posted by durham_lad View Post
+1

You'll have no problem using a simple plug adapter (no step-down transformer needed).
Fantastic, so something as simple as this should do the trick? UK Plug Adapter Grounded Type G SS414 - Black or White
manchester2016 is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 5:52 pm
  #12  
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 50,351
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Originally Posted by manchester2016 View Post
Fantastic, so something as simple as this should do the trick? UK Plug Adapter Grounded Type G SS414 - Black or White
Are you addicted to cheap plastic travel gadgets?

Either buy a new power cord, or cut the plug off and replace it.
Pulaski is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 5:54 pm
  #13  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 66
manchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
Are you addicted to cheap plastic travel gadgets?

Either buy a new power cord, or cut the plug off and replace it.
haha, Do I need to get a specific type of power cord? Apologies for my lack of knowledge in this area.
manchester2016 is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 5:56 pm
  #14  
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 50,351
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Originally Posted by manchester2016 View Post
haha, Do I need to get a specific type of power cord? Apologies for my lack of knowledge in this area.
One with a British 13A plug on one end and at the other, the sort of female plug that your computer accepts, which I think are fairly standard. Or is your computer's power cord hard-wired in? ..... In which case you just need a generic power cord with bare wires at the other end.

You should replace the 13A fuse in the plug with a lower value one to properly protect your computer. ..... A 3A fuse for up to 500w, 5A for up to 1000w, 7A for up to 1,500w.

Last edited by Pulaski; Feb 29th 2016 at 6:05 pm.
Pulaski is offline  
Old Feb 29th 2016, 5:58 pm
  #15  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 66
manchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond reputemanchester2016 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will my desktop PC work in the UK? (from the US)

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
One with a British 13A plug on one end and at the other, the sort of female plug that your computer accepts, which I think are fairly standard.
Perfect, thank you.
manchester2016 is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.