Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

Want to go home, but don't know how

Want to go home, but don't know how

Old Oct 10th 2011, 11:17 pm
Just Joined

MrBritUSA is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Want to go home, but don't know how

I have been living in the USA for over 25 years now. But as of lately I would like to go back to England. I guess my home sickness is catching up to me. I miss England, the food, the people and the English more grounded way of life. I am tired of living in the US (Sorry America)
I am still a UK resident. I never became a US citizen, just a green card holder. I am now 44 years of age.
My problem is I would not know where to start if returning to the UK / London.
I would not want to burden my family as they all have their own families to deal with.
I believe I could raise around 20K US to go home with. But would expect this would not last long.
Would I be eligible to receive any type of benefits / Housing etc, until I got on my feet.
I know these are some tall questions to ask but I have been away so long I am unsure of what to expect and how to go about it or where to start.
Old Oct 10th 2011, 11:47 pm
The Kwisatz Haderach

Mummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond reputeMummy in the foothills has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Want to go home, but don't know how

First get your US citizenship, that way if you get there and it was all rose tinted glasses, you can legally move back to US.