US and UK tax within same tax year

Wikiposts

US and UK tax within same tax year

Old Feb 19th 2013, 10:13 am
Just Joined

gofish is an unknown quantity at this point
Default US and UK tax within same tax year

Hi,

I am a UK permanent resident (ILR). I took a job in the USA and now planning to return after a period of 5 months (within same tax year). During my stay in the USA, I paid US income tax and social security tax while working in the US. Please can anyone share what do I need to do in terms of tax return filing with HMRC on my return to the UK so that I am not accused of tax evasion or anything like that. I have a P45 from my ex-UK employer UK , W-2 and payslips from the US employer.

Thanks
Old Feb 19th 2013, 2:34 pm
JAJ
Retired

JAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US and UK tax within same tax year

You should seek tax advice in the U.K. however in general:

- you will have to include your U.S. income on your U.K. tax return. You should normally get a credit for any U.S. tax;

- you will probably have to complete a U.S. tax return for your U.S. income. You will need to check that you have not become a U.S. tax resident, if so, your U.S. filing becomes more complex

- you might be able to take your U.S. Social Security credits and get them added to your U.K. contributions record

- the time outside the U.K. may affect when you can become naturalised as a British citizen, although if absence is only 5 months you should be able to seek admission as a returning resident.
Old Feb 28th 2013, 5:27 am
BE Enthusiast