Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

US to UK - quick TV question

US to UK - quick TV question

Old Oct 18th 2017, 2:33 pm
  #1  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
ukmancoll's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 348
ukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of light
Default US to UK - quick TV question

My daughter threw a remote by accident at my 55" curved Samsung TV and destroyed it. Apparently its cheaper to buy a new one than to fix.

We're moving back to the UK next month. I think I probably know the answer, but what do you guys recommend I do about a replacement? Buy a new one here and put it in the container back to England (which is what we were going to do with the existing TV)? Or wait until we get back to the UK to buy a new one.

My guess is it comes down to price, and the issue of having a UK tv using UK power as opposed to US tv needing a power converter.

Thanks all.
ukmancoll is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2017, 3:58 pm
  #2  
 
BritInParis's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Not in Paris
Posts: 17,637
BritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US to UK - quick TV question

If it's already broken then wait until you get back to buy a new one. Avoid transformers and incompatible signal/app issues. John Lewis or Richer Sounds have good customer service, will price match and give you a 5-6 year warranty to boot.

Last edited by BritInParis; Oct 18th 2017 at 4:01 pm.
BritInParis is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2017, 3:58 pm
  #3  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 470
Richard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US to UK - quick TV question

Not only voltage differences (240 vs 110), the need for an outlet adapter, power transformer, but most importantly different broadcast standards. By far better to buy a new TV there. Even if it wasn’t broken I wouldn’t take it there for these reasons.

(Ah yes, Schaumburg. Just a few miles from my suburb!)

Last edited by Richard8655; Oct 18th 2017 at 4:20 pm.
Richard8655 is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2017, 7:01 pm
  #4  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
mrken30's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Portlandia Metro
Posts: 7,407
mrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US to UK - quick TV question

UK TV's have much better program guides built-in. Unless you are just going to watch netflix, I would probably buy a UK TV. Cord cutting in the UK is much easier because of the TV license and good OTA TV.
mrken30 is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2017, 7:11 pm
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
ukmancoll's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 348
ukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: US to UK - quick TV question

Thanks all.

What are thoughts on pricing? Is it comparable?
ukmancoll is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2017, 7:12 pm
  #6  
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 50,819
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US to UK - quick TV question

TVS are invariably multi-voltage, and accept both 50Hz and 60Hz mains these days, so there will be no need for any sort of transformer or adapter - just switch the plug or cord to a British 13A plug.

That said, I agree with everyone else - buy in the UK when you get back.

Last edited by Pulaski; Oct 18th 2017 at 8:24 pm.
Pulaski is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2017, 7:21 pm
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
ukmancoll's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 348
ukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: US to UK - quick TV question

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
TVS are invariably multi-voltage, and accept both 50Hz and 60Hz mains these days, so there will be no need for any sort if transformer or adapter - just switch the plug or cord.

That said, I agree with everyone else - buy in the UK when you get back.
That's what I was thinking... based on my research. I think it comes down to price? The same model that is $799 here is £899 in the UK.
ukmancoll is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2017, 7:28 pm
  #8  
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 50,819
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US to UK - quick TV question

Originally Posted by ukmancoll View Post
That's what I was thinking... based on my research. I think it comes down to price? The same model that is $799 here is £899 in the UK.
At those prices, and given the exchange rate, I'd take the British one every time because of the risk of damage in transit and that a US product warranty will be worthless in the UK.
Pulaski is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2017, 7:37 pm
  #9  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
mrken30's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Portlandia Metro
Posts: 7,407
mrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US to UK - quick TV question

Originally Posted by ukmancoll View Post
That's what I was thinking... based on my research. I think it comes down to price? The same model that is $799 here is £899 in the UK.
Not sure what model you have, but if it's down to price

Samsung UE55M6300 55" Curved 1080p Full HD LED TV UE55M6300AKXXU is £680.
or
Samsung UE55MU6220 55" 4K Ultra HD Curved LED Smart TV with Freeview HD UE55MU6220KXXU is £770


if you take your US TV you will probably want to buy a freeview box. So there is not that much difference in price and you will lose UK specific features unless you can flash your TV with UK software.
mrken30 is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2017, 7:46 pm
  #10  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
ukmancoll's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 348
ukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: US to UK - quick TV question

Originally Posted by mrken30 View Post
Not sure what model you have, but if it's down to price

Samsung UE55M6300 55" Curved 1080p Full HD LED TV UE55M6300AKXXU is £680.
or
Samsung UE55MU6220 55" 4K Ultra HD Curved LED Smart TV with Freeview HD UE55MU6220KXXU is £770


if you take your US TV you will probably want to buy a freeview box. So there is not that much difference in price and you will lose UK specific features unless you can flash your TV with UK software.
I was looking at the 6500 - that's what I have now (or did..) I'll probably have to downgrade if I want to stay in budget and get one from UK.
ukmancoll is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2017, 8:00 pm
  #11  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
mrken30's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Portlandia Metro
Posts: 7,407
mrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US to UK - quick TV question

Originally Posted by ukmancoll View Post
I was looking at the 6500 - that's what I have now (or did..) I'll probably have to downgrade if I want to stay in budget and get one from UK.
Samsung UE55MU6500 55" 4K Ultra HD HDR Curved LED Smart TV with Freeview HD and Active Crystal Colour UE55MU6500UXXU is £800, so just a little bit more.

And that's without shopping around too much or taking advantage of promocodes etc.

or get a unknown brand , not my choice, for less money

electriQ 65" Curved 4K Ultra HD LED Smart TV with Google Android and Freeview HD eiq-CV65UHDT2SM is £730

UK houses might be a bit small for a TV that size.
mrken30 is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2017, 11:22 pm
  #12  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
ukmancoll's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 348
ukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of lightukmancoll is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: US to UK - quick TV question

Originally Posted by mrken30 View Post
Samsung UE55MU6500 55" 4K Ultra HD HDR Curved LED Smart TV with Freeview HD and Active Crystal Colour UE55MU6500UXXU is £800, so just a little bit more.

And that's without shopping around too much or taking advantage of promocodes etc.

or get a unknown brand , not my choice, for less money

electriQ 65" Curved 4K Ultra HD LED Smart TV with Google Android and Freeview HD eiq-CV65UHDT2SM is £730

UK houses might be a bit small for a TV that size.
So my TV will look even bigger than it actually is....!
ukmancoll is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2017, 2:47 am
  #13  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 470
Richard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond reputeRichard8655 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US to UK - quick TV question

That’s right. The latest HDTVs support international voltage and transmission standards. As mentioned, an outlet adapter just needed. Been out of touch in latest TV technology. But I’d still only own a TV purchased in the local country.
Richard8655 is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2017, 9:32 am
  #14  
 
BritInParis's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Not in Paris
Posts: 17,637
BritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond reputeBritInParis has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US to UK - quick TV question

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
TVS are invariably multi-voltage, and accept both 50Hz and 60Hz mains these days, so there will be no need for any sort of transformer or adapter - just switch the plug or cord to a British 13A plug.

That said, I agree with everyone else - buy in the UK when you get back.
Originally Posted by Richard8655 View Post
That’s right. The latest HDTVs support international voltage and transmission standards. As mentioned, an outlet adapter just needed. Been out of touch in latest TV technology. But I’d still only own a TV purchased in the local country.
I would be cautious in that regard. For the television under discussion, the official UK specs state that it only supports "AC220-240V 50/60Hz". The US specs don't mention voltage at all.
BritInParis is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.