Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

terrified about moving back...

terrified about moving back...

Old Mar 25th 2010, 6:42 am
Account Closed

I_miss_real_beer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default terrified about moving back...

I'm a dual US/UK citizen. Looking to head back to the UK in the next few years with my american wife and our kid. I am terrified about moving back to the UK, I left when I was 17 with 5 GCSE's and joined the US Navy. I have a LOT of technical experience in the Electronic Warfare, Anti Submarine Warfare and general Naval aviation fields. But no formal college education.

I'm just worried that employers in the UK will see me as a 25 year old with 5 GCSE's and not much else. I looked into joining the RAF/RN doing a similar job as I am doing now. But I didnt meet the residency requirements to join. I couldnt even join the police force in the UK! I'm an ENGLISH CITIZEN, and hold a security clearance with the US Military, and they wont let me work any government job because I have been out of the country for so long.

How is the Job market over there for someone with my narrow set of skills? Anyone have any idea? I'd have no problem finding work if I stayed here, but I do miss England, and my wife an I dont really want to raise our kid in the states.

Anyone got any input or suggestions?
Old Mar 25th 2010, 10:24 am
I don't give a damn

Fleaflyfloflum has a reputation beyond reputeFleaflyfloflum has a reputation beyond reputeFleaflyfloflum has a reputation beyond reputeFleaflyfloflum has a reputation beyond reputeFleaflyfloflum has a reputation beyond reputeFleaflyfloflum has a reputation beyond reputeFleaflyfloflum has a reputation beyond reputeFleaflyfloflum has a reputation beyond reputeFleaflyfloflum has a reputation beyond reputeFleaflyfloflum has a reputation beyond reputeFleaflyfloflum has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: terrified about moving back...