Tax filing help!

Old Feb 15th 2015, 1:56 pm
BE Enthusiast

lgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond reputelgabriel73 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Tax filing help!

Hi
I need help figuring out what tax forms I need to file for the US and am hoping some of the tax experts on this forum can help.
Returned to UK May 17 2014 and surrendered my permanent residence card effective that date. Was living in massachusetts and earning income which i was taxed on between January 1 - April 20th 2014.

Do I need to file a 1040 or would it be a 1040NR? Confused because when I was paying taxes in the US I was a resident but not a resident for the entire tax year. Is there a part year resident form and would I file that?

Also after I left the US I did some consulting work for my former employer in the US until October. This income was not taxed in the US. Do I include this on my US tax return and pay US taxes on it or would it be liable for UK taxes since I was a UK resident when earning the money and have to file a UK self assessment?

Confused right now so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks.

Last edited by lgabriel73; Feb 15th 2015 at 2:47 pm.
Old Feb 15th 2015, 11:50 pm
BE Forum Addict