Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

Returning expat financial/tax obligations

Returning expat financial/tax obligations

Old Oct 22nd 2021, 1:29 pm
Forum Regular

Nypool1e has a reputation beyond reputeNypool1e has a reputation beyond reputeNypool1e has a reputation beyond reputeNypool1e has a reputation beyond reputeNypool1e has a reputation beyond reputeNypool1e has a reputation beyond reputeNypool1e has a reputation beyond reputeNypool1e has a reputation beyond reputeNypool1e has a reputation beyond reputeNypool1e has a reputation beyond reputeNypool1e has a reputation beyond repute
Default Returning expat financial/tax obligations

Hi, newbie here, I wonder if you can help me. I have lived in NYC for the last 30 years & I have dual citizenship. I am planning on returning to the UK permanently along with my American wife (recently married, yay!). When I return I know I have to inform HMRC, could anyone tell me what my financial/tax responsibilities are on my return. I have savings here in the US, I just started receiving social security payments (yes, I’m an old geezer now) I don’t intend to work in England or receive my UK pension for a number of years, I shall be living on my & my wife’s savings. I have owned a property in England since 2014 which my siblings care for & we will be moving into on our arrival. I have this knot in my stomach thinking that I owe the UK government a substantial amount of money/tax, does anyone have any insight into this issue? Thanks.
Old Oct 22nd 2021, 7:59 pm
BE Forum Addict