British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Moving back or to the UK (https://britishexpats.com/forum/moving-back-uk-61/)
-   -   Resident Return Visa or Australian Citizenship? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/moving-back-uk-61/resident-return-visa-australian-citizenship-679324/)

golgo13 Aug 2nd 2010 2:54 am

Resident Return Visa or Australian Citizenship?

Good Morning Everyone,

I have been living away from the UK since 2005. I was in Canada for a year and then the last four have been in Australia between Melbourne and Sydney.

I am currently in the process of setting in place a plan of action to return to the UK 2011/2012.

I have been a permanent resident since 2008 and my main reasons for heading back to the UK are family based and also being at the point where I feel the time is right for a new challenge.

I was wondering if anyone has had to make the decision between getting a resident return visa or holding out for Australia citizenship?

I will be eligible to apply for citizenship in September 2010, however due to my marriage currently being on the rock the emotional aspect is telling me to leave earlier.

However my practical mind is saying it would be better to apply for it since you have gone this far?

Just wandering if anyone has been in a similar situation where they had to decide on either?:confused:

Note: Mods please move if I have placed this in the wrong place!

Basil Brush Aug 2nd 2010 7:17 am

Re: Resident Return Visa or Australian Citizenship?

Definitely wait for the citizenship :)

We applied for ours in late May and received our approval letters by late July. We should have the ceremony by mid-September, so 4 months from start to finish. Knowing how quickly time flies by, I would definitely stay to get the citizenship. Once you have it though you cannot travel on UK passport, so allow another 4 weeks to get an Aussie passport sorted too.

Good Luck with whatever you decide! :thumbup: