Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

Requirements for returning to the UK with a non-citizen spouse?

Requirements for returning to the UK with a non-citizen spouse?

Old Jan 2nd 2004, 5:28 pm
Just Joined

aroncox is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Requirements for returning to the UK with a non-citizen spouse?

I have lived the past 10 years in Canada and am a British citizen, I wish to return to the UK as the job opportunities here in Canada (at least in Vancouver) are not what I would like them to be (I am a computer programmer). I currently have a Japanese fiancee and we will marry soon(ish), she has already applied for Canadian citizenship, and we'll probably wait for that to go through before leaving in case we ever want to return.

Can anyone clarify the following issues for me:

1. If I return I will have to look for a job upon arriving, so it sounds like I am expected to have a certain amount of money in the bank. Any idea how much is required in UK pounds?

2. We will stay with my Mum in the UK until I find a job. She doesn't own a home and lives in a council flat. Does that matter at all, or should I stay with my sister who owns a home, as I believe I have to prove to immigration that we have somewhere to stay?

3. When should I start applying for the relevant visas, how long does the process take, and once we have been approved (I hope) how long usually do we have to leave here and enter the UK?

4. Is it recommended to use an immigration lawyer/service to help us, would that make acceptance more likely?

5. As a British citizen can I claim any welfare etc. while I'm looking for a job, or is there a certain waiting period upon entering the country?

Thanks a lot for your help, it seems like there's a lot of good information on this message board I'm glad I found it.

Aron.

Last edited by aroncox; Jan 2nd 2004 at 6:05 pm.
Old Jan 2nd 2004, 5:36 pm