Renting you house

Old Jan 21st 2014, 8:30 am
Just Joined

doodlediver is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Renting you house

Hi all, Newbie here.
I have the opportunity to work, teaching, in Jeddah on a 2 year contract.
I just wanted to know if there are any expats who has rented their house, in the UK?

Thanks
Old Jan 21st 2014, 9:00 am
BE Forum Addict

rebs has a reputation beyond reputerebs has a reputation beyond reputerebs has a reputation beyond reputerebs has a reputation beyond reputerebs has a reputation beyond reputerebs has a reputation beyond reputerebs has a reputation beyond reputerebs has a reputation beyond reputerebs has a reputation beyond reputerebs has a reputation beyond reputerebs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Renting you house

Welcome to BE

Loads of people have rented out their houses - if you have a bit of a search around you should find plenty of threads.

My husband & I rented out our house a few years ago while we were in the US for a couple of years.

Our experience was a mixed bag - we used a local agent (cost 10% of rental income) who were OK. Had the same tenants for the whole 2 years we were away, so no rental voids. However, that was offset by the fact they hit hard times and stopped paying their rent so ended up owing us quite a bit.

No wilful damage by the tenants, but there was certainly loads more 'wear & tear' than I would have expected had we lived there for those 2 years.

A key thing to get done ahead of time is make sure you have permission from your mortgage provider (if you have a mortgage).
Old Jan 21st 2014, 10:16 am
Ping-ponger