Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

Moving back a bit differently ...

Wikiposts

Moving back a bit differently ...

Old Jan 20th 2008, 6:59 pm
Just Joined

Calandra is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving back a bit differently ...

Hi there everyone!

I am moving back to the UK in a month's time after many years spent o'seas - most recently in Australia.

Problem is I don't have any family to stay with (have got a couple of old friends who thankfully I have kept in touch with through all these years!) or a "home" as such. Due to personal "stuff" I don't have any investments etc etc either. Lost those in escaping from a nasty relationship. I've got a few thousand dollars to tide me over and plenty of old-fashioned gumption, though! I also have teaching English to adults qualification (Cambridge CELTA) and experience, and lots of office administration experience. Years ago I was a registered nurse, and still have that qualification on paper, although I've not used it for so long that it is invalid in a practical sense of getting a job as a nurse. I'd have to retrain - no way at my age!

I've long since forgotten what my NI number is - though I do have one, having worked in the UK in my youth, and for a few years in the 1980's.

From what I read, it's difficult now to get a bank account set up in the UK without showing all sorts of stuff like utility bills (which obviously I won't have) or to rent a place without a decent credit score (which again I won't have!). I'm sure my friends will let me stay in their spare rooms until I get a job of sorts (being 59 won't make that easy but is life meant to be easy?).

So - where/what is the easiest bank account to set up (do they still to the Post Office jobbies?); how do I find my old NI number - and if this info is here on the site somewhere, can someone point me to it, please?