Reload this Page >

Living in NT, Australia thinking about returning to UK - complicated

Living in NT, Australia thinking about returning to UK - complicated

Old Jun 21st 2015, 1:34 am
Just Joined

Threeblessings is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Living in NT, Australia thinking about returning to UK - complicated

Hi Everyone,

I moved to Australia nearly 6 years ago with a husband and two children in tow. We had our third and last child in 2011. Our marriage did not survive due to many, many issues and I am now a sole parent to 3 children while studying a full time bachelor of education degree.

Before the end of the year our divorce should be finalised. For sometime I have been thinking about returning to England with the children once my degree is over with. I also know that I cannot just jump on a plane with as I would be breaking the law and the father would be devastated. So this is not an option.

Also, there is the issue of our Australian born child having the right to live int he UK if I could ever return. Long story short I have British Citizenship be descent as my mother is welsh and I was born in Africa. We had lived in Cambridgeshire for 10 years before moving to Australia.

I haven't been able to return to the UK to see my mother and brother in almost 6 years. Although I speak to both regularly it's hard to tell what it's actually like there now. Am I crazy to even think about this? How hard is it to find a job as a teacher? I have two children in the public school system here, would they fair better or worse over there? My daughter almost completed 3 years at a Church of England school and it was in my opinion an excellent school. As it stands she is about to finish year 6 and will need to complete middle school and high school in a private school. We only have one public middle school and its reputation has been tarnished since it openened its doors 3 years ago!