Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

Confused Yankee in the U.K.

Confused Yankee in the U.K.

Old Jun 11th 2018, 12:49 pm
Just Joined

Nancy R is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Confused Yankee in the U.K.

Hello, not sure this is the correct place to ask. I’m a newly retired nurse from the USA soon to be married to my British fiancée in the U.K. As we are getting married here without the proper visa, I will sadly be returning to the USA shortly after the wedding. We have secured a rental property in Normandy which is near both a ferry port and an airport allowing my soon-to-be husband to commute to his engineering job in the U.K.
I realise that I must apply for my long stay in the USA as I am a citizen. Not sure if I apply on my own to retire there or as a spouse of citizen of the E.U. Any advice? Thank you.
Old Jun 11th 2018, 1:01 pm

Lion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond reputeLion in Winter has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Confused Yankee in the U.K.

Originally Posted by Nancy R
Hello, not sure this is the correct place to ask. I’m a newly retired nurse from the USA soon to be married to my British fiancée in the U.K. As we are getting married here without the proper visa, I will sadly be returning to the USA shortly after the wedding. We have secured a rental property in Normandy which is near both a ferry port and an airport allowing my soon-to-be husband to commute to his engineering job in the U.K.