Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

Has anyone considered a career change when MBTTUK?

Has anyone considered a career change when MBTTUK?

Old May 19th 2009, 6:36 pm
BE Enthusiast

Dave_Was has a reputation beyond reputeDave_Was has a reputation beyond reputeDave_Was has a reputation beyond reputeDave_Was has a reputation beyond reputeDave_Was has a reputation beyond reputeDave_Was has a reputation beyond reputeDave_Was has a reputation beyond reputeDave_Was has a reputation beyond reputeDave_Was has a reputation beyond reputeDave_Was has a reputation beyond reputeDave_Was has a reputation beyond repute
Default Has anyone considered a career change when MBTTUK?

Hello All,

I'm an Engineer by trade and working in a very narrow field of electronics design for the last 15 years or so.

One of the reasons I moved from the UK was that work in the US was more plentiful in my field than in the UK.

Whenever, I consider a move back to the UK, I always worry about the job front. If I do find a job in my field, it would be reasonably well paid, but the prospect of projects being canceled, etc, is always there and finding something else in my field would be harder and harder.

So... has anyone considered a career change? Is it hard to do? Does any of your previous experience help? I don't suppose being able to design electronics at transistor level, would help in many other careers.

A couple of times when I was back in the UK, I tried looking into this with the careers advice people and all I really got was here's a bunch of reading, now go and apply for the jobs.

Any thoughts?
Old May 19th 2009, 8:06 pm
Just hanging around