Going back to the UK but still working for US Company

Wikiposts

Going back to the UK but still working for US Company

Old May 10th 2015, 3:04 am
Just Joined

markandrose is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Going back to the UK but still working for US Company

Hi all looking for some advice!
I am a UK resident with a US greencard currently living in US.
I have been working in the US for 10years.
I hope to sell my house in the US and return to UK and by a house
I hope to remain working for the US company while living in the UK travelling to US for 2 weeks every 3 month's
Will I pay tax in both UK and US while working for US company and living in the UK.
Is there anyone that has a similar situation?
Not sure whether it would be advisable to continue as an employer for the US company or to be self employed and work as a subcontractor.

Thanks
Mark

Last edited by markandrose; May 10th 2015 at 3:05 am. Reason: miss-spelt
Old May 10th 2015, 3:32 am
WhiteRabbit

rebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond reputerebeccajo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Going back to the UK but still working for US Company

Have you become an American citizen? If so, you are liable for US taxes on your worldwide income forever, no matter where you live. Even if you are not a US citizen, you are bound to the US tax system for a while because you've been resident in the US.

U.S. Citizens and Resident Aliens Abroad