CD player, Canada to UK

Old May 23rd 2009, 8:17 pm
  #1  
Just hanging around
Thread Starter
 
Bevm's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Back in England
Posts: 1,447
Bevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond repute
Default CD player, Canada to UK

Has anyone taken one back? I know we'll need a transformer, but someone said that the CDs wouldn't play right under the new voltage. Or wattage. I get confused. We have a 100 disk changer, and no one seems to make them anymore, here or there. I supposed everyone's running off mp3s.

Bev
Bevm is offline  
Old May 24th 2009, 12:38 am
  #2  
JAJ
Retired
 
JAJ's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 34,649
JAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: CD player, Canada to UK

Even with a transformer, it may not play CDs correctly as not only is the voltage different, the cycles will be different too.

Your CDs will work on a British player.
JAJ is offline  
Old May 24th 2009, 8:42 pm
  #3  
Just hanging around
Thread Starter
 
Bevm's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Back in England
Posts: 1,447
Bevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: CD player, Canada to UK

Originally Posted by JAJ
Even with a transformer, it may not play CDs correctly as not only is the voltage different, the cycles will be different too.

Your CDs will work on a British player.
Thanks. That's what I was told.

Bev
Bevm is offline  
Old May 24th 2009, 9:03 pm
  #4  
Ping-ponger
 
dunroving's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Dreich Alba
Posts: 12,004
dunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: CD player, Canada to UK

Originally Posted by Bevm
Thanks. That's what I was told.

Bev
Have a look at the power supply information plate (usually on the back). Some electrical goods now work across a range of voltages and cycles (laptops being the prime example).

I've been toying with teh diea of getting an MP3 player and x-ferring all my CDs onto it. It seems like such a great piece of gear - why carry around a couple of hundred CDs when you can have all the music stored on something the size of a pack of cards?
dunroving is offline  
Old May 24th 2009, 10:33 pm
  #5  
Just hanging around
Thread Starter
 
Bevm's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Back in England
Posts: 1,447
Bevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond reputeBevm has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: CD player, Canada to UK

Originally Posted by dunroving
I've been toying with teh diea of getting an MP3 player and x-ferring all my CDs onto it. It seems like such a great piece of gear - why carry around a couple of hundred CDs when you can have all the music stored on something the size of a pack of cards?
We've actually done that, but we have some where the slight loss of range matters, plus we just like the machine we have, how it works etc.

Thanks for the suggestion, though. It does make sense.

Bev
Bevm is offline  
Old May 26th 2009, 8:07 pm
  #6  
AIT
Just Joined
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 22
AIT is a jewel in the roughAIT is a jewel in the roughAIT is a jewel in the roughAIT is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: CD player, Canada to UK

Originally Posted by Bevm
Has anyone taken one back? I know we'll need a transformer, but someone said that the CDs wouldn't play right under the new voltage. Or wattage. I get confused. We have a 100 disk changer, and no one seems to make them anymore, here or there. I supposed everyone's running off mp3s.

Bev
And I thought I had worries.
AIT is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.