Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

British citizen but born in Germany, want to move to UK

British citizen but born in Germany, want to move to UK

Old Mar 30th 2022, 12:57 pm
Just Joined

ECFirefly is an unknown quantity at this point
Default British citizen but born in Germany, want to move to UK

Hi, I’m new here and since my situation seems to be very specific I thought I’d ask here in this forum.
So I currently live and have lived in Germany since birth, but want to move to Wales because my girlfriend lives there and I’ve always wanted to move to the UK one day regardless, so that gave me the push I needed. Now my biggest issues is finding a job. I’m a currently still a student but will drop out soon, so I want to do an apprenticeship. The thing is, the government website on apprenticeships tells me to be eligible I have to be living in the UK. Is it possible to apply for apprenticeships while still living in Germany? I assume it would also be an issue that companies would probably want to see me in person for the job interview…so does that mean I have to move to the UK first and then apply? That would mean I’d have to work full time as something else until my apprenticeship starts, might be hard on my wallet considering I also have to find housing then. And then also in the meantime would I pay my rent from my german bank? I just have a lot of questions still in general and if someone could at least help me with the issue regarding an apprenticeship I’d much appreciate it. (I have completed the equivalent of A-Levels here in Germany)
Old Mar 31st 2022, 12:48 am