Reload this Page >

What its like for expat women in dubai

What its like for expat women in dubai

Old Aug 13th 2008, 12:14 pm
Just Joined

brodtron is an unknown quantity at this point
Default What its like for expat women in dubai

Hello again,

Myself and my girlfriend decided about 4 months ago to emigrate to Dubai. We plan to head over around this time next year. However recently because of talking to people who "have a freind of a friend who live in Dubai" she has become somewhat nervous for a number of reasons:

1. We are not married and probably will not be by the time we get over there.

2. She is very worried about how women are treated in the middle east.

We will be heading over sperately and our qualifications mean that we will be working for international organisations. She is a Planner and I am a Surveyor. We will not be making it public knowledge that we are not married and have even considered buying wedding rings. We are aware of the culture and understand about public displays of afection etc.

From what I have seen on this forum having logged on a number of times since we decided to head over, there seems to be a very strong ex-pat community which provide a heathy social and work life.

What I would like are some genuine honest accounts from some of the expat women in Dubai on what life is like over there on a normal day to day basis - Warts and all! I do not want to go over there if her life over there is not going to be a good one, but I feel she is being miss informed by people who have no authority on the subject.

Thanking you in advance.

B

ps please be as brutally honest as possible.
Old Aug 13th 2008, 12:32 pm
Account Closed

lionheart is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: What its like for expat women in dubai

Its a piece of cake...few problems whatsoever for a working woman here... so long as she has transport and does not have alcoholic or exhibitionist tendencies.
Old Aug 13th 2008, 12:33 pm
Forum Regular