Visa cancelation

Old Aug 1st 2010, 12:52 pm
Just Joined

kevinm3104 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Visa cancelation

I was wondering if anyone could help. I've been working out here for 6 months, I was in month 5 of my probabtion with my company and I decided that I'd had enough. The wages were poor and I wasnt making enough money to live on and I was a lot worse of than I was back in the UK, i told my employer at the time that I was unhappy and wanted to leave and work elsewhere. Long story short my previous employer said he wont cancel my visa until I have paid back the 9000aed for my visa, he deducted 5000 from my salary leaving me broke and wont cancel my visa until I have paid off the remaining 4000. He also has my passport. This surely isnt legal? What can I do and who can I speak too?
Old Aug 1st 2010, 12:55 pm
Forum Regular

thecentennial is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Visa cancelation

Originally Posted by kevinm3104
I was wondering if anyone could help. I've been working out here for 6 months, I was in month 5 of my probabtion with my company and I decided that I'd had enough. The wages were poor and I wasnt making enough money to live on and I was a lot worse of than I was back in the UK, i told my employer at the time that I was unhappy and wanted to leave and work elsewhere. Long story short my previous employer said he wont cancel my visa until I have paid back the 9000aed for my visa, he deducted 5000 from my salary leaving me broke and wont cancel my visa until I have paid off the remaining 4000. He also has my passport. This surely isnt legal? What can I do and who can I speak too?
Not sure it's "legal" to do this, the probationary period is for both parties. Does it state in your contract that the visa would have to be repaid if you leave in your probationary period?

Last edited by thecentennial; Aug 1st 2010 at 12:56 pm. Reason: spelling
Old Aug 1st 2010, 1:01 pm
Just Joined

Originally Posted by thecentennial