Reload this Page >

University of Sharjah

University of Sharjah

Old Feb 18th 2018, 11:56 am
Just Joined

Mathguy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default University of Sharjah

Hello everyone

This is my first post on this forum. I have some questions on faculty positions at UAE universities.

I am a fresh PhD in mathematics (statistics) from a good university. Published two papers and I have one manuscript. I was shortlisted by UoS and recently had my 30 min interview, I 'think' for the position of assistant professor.

The issue is that I have no teaching experience on university level. However, I graduated from a world top university (70 on ranking) cum laude etc. and have written a nice thesis. One of the top statisticians in the world collaborated with me.

At the interview they asked about teaching experience, I told them how it is and that I am confident I could teach well at the university level. What are my possibilites at this university?

I am consering to apply for other UAE universities (maybe as post doc?) as well, to increase my chances.

Thank you for reading and for any comments on this.

Mathguy
Old Feb 19th 2018, 5:54 am
...we killed the flame

Miss Ann Thrope has a reputation beyond reputeMiss Ann Thrope has a reputation beyond reputeMiss Ann Thrope has a reputation beyond reputeMiss Ann Thrope has a reputation beyond reputeMiss Ann Thrope has a reputation beyond reputeMiss Ann Thrope has a reputation beyond reputeMiss Ann Thrope has a reputation beyond reputeMiss Ann Thrope has a reputation beyond reputeMiss Ann Thrope has a reputation beyond reputeMiss Ann Thrope has a reputation beyond reputeMiss Ann Thrope has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: University of Sharjah

Originally Posted by Mathguy
Hello everyone

This is my first post on this forum. I have some questions on faculty positions at UAE universities.