Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

UK mobile phone in Saudi

UK mobile phone in Saudi

Old Jan 22nd 2008, 10:05 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
madmidwife's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: at the end of the rainbow
Posts: 124
madmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud of
Question UK mobile phone in Saudi

Can anyone tell me if a UK mobile will work in Saudi?
madmidwife is offline  
Old Jan 22nd 2008, 10:25 am
  #2  
BE Forum Addict
 
nottmbantam's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Riyadh.
Posts: 1,899
nottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

Thanks for asking madmidwife, I was thinking the exact same thing. Wanted to take my UK phone with me, and perhaps buy a Saudi sim card out there, and maybe go on a Pay As You Go deal? Would help me to keep better track of how much I'm spending on phone bills.
nottmbantam is offline  
Old Jan 22nd 2008, 10:28 am
  #3  
BE Forum Addict
 
Chris79's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 1,575
Chris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

Originally Posted by nottmbantam View Post
Thanks for asking madmidwife, I was thinking the exact same thing. Wanted to take my UK phone with me, and perhaps buy a Saudi sim card out there, and maybe go on a Pay As You Go deal? Would help me to keep better track of how much I'm spending on phone bills.
Any mobile phone will work anywhere as long as you unlock it first. I have brought both my uk phones over to the UAE, unlocked them and have put local sim cards in them.
You don't want to be using your UK sim cards over here. My first monthly UK bill was in excess of 500 english pounds!!
Chris79 is offline  
Old Jan 22nd 2008, 10:36 am
  #4  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
madmidwife's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: at the end of the rainbow
Posts: 124
madmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud ofmadmidwife has much to be proud of
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

Thanks for the info
madmidwife is offline  
Old Jan 22nd 2008, 10:50 am
  #5  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 44
t19hlr will become famous soon enought19hlr will become famous soon enough
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

Most phones in the UK are now locked to the network provider unless you buy it without a contract. Just pop down to the local market and there's usually plenty of stalls for unlocking phones.
Chris I've had bad experiences using my UK network phone in Bahrain, but £500....thats crazy!!
t19hlr is offline  
Old Jan 22nd 2008, 10:57 am
  #6  
BE Forum Addict
 
Chris79's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 1,575
Chris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond reputeChris79 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

Originally Posted by t19hlr View Post
Most phones in the UK are now locked to the network provider unless you buy it without a contract. Just pop down to the local market and there's usually plenty of stalls for unlocking phones.
Chris I've had bad experiences using my UK network phone in Bahrain, but £500....thats crazy!!
Tell me about it! I was using it for the first month for work. Any time anyone called me it cost me a 1.40 connection fee then a fortune for every minute your connected and it costed me a fortune to receive text messages. The gf kept texting me!! It's a lot better now that I have a local sim card. It's much cheaper to phone home and you don't get charged for receiving texts or calls
Chris79 is offline  
Old Jan 22nd 2008, 11:56 am
  #7  
Not an evil hypnotist
 
typical's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 1,975
typical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

The phone itself will work fine if it's unlocked.

I actually use two phones from the UK here. One still has my UK SIM in it, roaming. The other has a local PAYG SIM. The latter is far cheaper...
typical is offline  
Old Jan 22nd 2008, 12:01 pm
  #8  
BE Forum Addict
 
nottmbantam's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Riyadh.
Posts: 1,899
nottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

Originally Posted by Chris79 View Post
Any mobile phone will work anywhere as long as you unlock it first. I have brought both my uk phones over to the UAE, unlocked them and have put local sim cards in them.
You don't want to be using your UK sim cards over here. My first monthly UK bill was in excess of 500 english pounds!!
Yes, my phone is locked onto Orange, but a quick call to them and they will 'sell' you an unlock code for £20, which they will either email or post to you.

Enter this into the phone and hey presto, its is now open to all networks.

AFAIK though, its specific to your IMEI no , so exclusively for a one off use.
nottmbantam is offline  
Old Jan 22nd 2008, 12:27 pm
  #9  
Not an evil hypnotist
 
typical's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 1,975
typical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

Originally Posted by nottmbantam View Post
Yes, my phone is locked onto Orange, but a quick call to them and they will 'sell' you an unlock code for £20, which they will either email or post to you.
They don't have to do this if you're still in contract... it can then be cheaper to get it unlocked at your local market stall. Or just buy out your contract.

AFAIK though, its specific to your IMEI no , so exclusively for a one off use.
The unlock code is generally specific to the individual phone. Whether it's specific to the IMEI too is something that's up to the manufacturer and how they generate their unlock codes. For all intents and purposes it's the same thing, but not exactly. Anyway the point is write - unlock codes can't be used on multiple phones.
typical is offline  
Old Jan 22nd 2008, 1:12 pm
  #10  
BE Forum Addict
 
nottmbantam's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Riyadh.
Posts: 1,899
nottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond reputenottmbantam has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

Just got off the phone to Orange Customer Services. If I use my Orange phone out there in KSA, these are the charges:

Make a call to UK = £1.45 per min
Make a call internally in that country £1.45 pm

Receive a call: 90pence pm

Send a text: 50p each per text

Receive text : Free

Send video / pic message = £1.50 per message

Use GPRS ( internet / browsing / data ) = £8.00 per mb

Crikey, not surprised Chris was getting hefty bills... Will deffo get the phone unlocked and get a local sim card.
nottmbantam is offline  
Old Jan 22nd 2008, 1:23 pm
  #11  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 44
t19hlr will become famous soon enought19hlr will become famous soon enough
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

Originally Posted by nottmbantam View Post
Just got off the phone to Orange Customer Services. If I use my Orange phone out there in KSA, these are the charges:

Make a call to UK = £1.45 per min
Make a call internally in that country £1.45 pm

Receive a call: 90pence pm

Send a text: 50p each per text

Receive text : Free

Send video / pic message = £1.50 per message

Use GPRS ( internet / browsing / data ) = £8.00 per mb

Crikey, not surprised Chris was getting hefty bills... Will deffo get the phone unlocked and get a local sim card.
Thats crazy!!
I heard there is a sim card for the GCC which can be used in any of the countries and has very resonable rates no matter which country you are in, is this true?
t19hlr is offline  
Old Jan 23rd 2008, 5:49 am
  #12  
Its all good
 
Fairydust's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Dubai
Posts: 7,650
Fairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond reputeFairydust has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

I remember reading somewhere a while ago that camera phones were banned in KSA???????????? Not sure if I dreamt that one up or its true?
Fairydust is offline  
Old Jan 23rd 2008, 7:01 am
  #13  
Not an evil hypnotist
 
typical's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 1,975
typical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

Originally Posted by Fairydust View Post
I remember reading somewhere a while ago that camera phones were banned in KSA???????????? Not sure if I dreamt that one up or its true?
I believe they were once upon a time (in a past life I worked on one of the first mainstream cameraphones - that was six years ago!), but certainly not any more.
typical is offline  
Old Jan 23rd 2008, 7:02 am
  #14  
Not an evil hypnotist
 
typical's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 1,975
typical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond reputetypical has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

One weird thing is I can't send text messages from my Orange UK number when I'm roaming onto Al Jawal. Everything else works fine.
typical is offline  
Old Jan 23rd 2008, 8:58 pm
  #15  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
guywithstyle is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: UK mobile phone in Saudi

Originally Posted by madmidwife View Post
Can anyone tell me if a UK mobile will work in Saudi?
it will work as long as you have roaming on, but they will charge you a lot for that, better to take your phone have it unlocked and just have a saudi chip put in.
guywithstyle is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.