British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Middle East (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/)
-   -   UAE Residence Visa rejected - UK national, whats next? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/uae-residence-visa-rejected-uk-national-whats-next-868338/)

Worried Noodle Nov 23rd 2015 1:57 am

UAE Residence Visa rejected - UK national, whats next?

HI guys,

This is my first post on the forum since recently finding it. I have never worked in the Middle East before and have lived as an expat in SE Asia for 35 years.

I recently was offered a lucrative job in UAE offshore oil and gas sector by a UK agency who told me they were applying for my UAE residence visa via a local sponsor whom I have no contact with directly - all is done thro the UK agent. I was not asked to fill in any forms related to visa application, just send the UK agent my UK passport photo single page and education documents which are now over 30 years old. Is this normal for applying a residence permit - not to be involved personally or even travel to UAE to apply?

I have since been told by the UK agent that UAE authorities have rejected my application without reason other than a single word "security" and I have no idea why as my history is clean. It leaves me wondering how they could have concluded this without me even completing an application personally or interview?

Can anyone suggest their thoughts on this? Are either the UK agents or UAE agents up to some kind of scam, or is getting a UAE visa for offshore work very difficult at the moment?

Thanks for any feed back guys. This web site looks very useful find for me.

Millhouse Nov 23rd 2015 5:06 am

Re: UAE Residence Visa rejected - UK national, whats next?

How old are you? 50s or like 60s?
Are you white, brown or from Mediterranean arab decent??
How many brits are in the company? Maybe the have reached their quota

Anyway, your recourse is somewhere near zero. sorry.