British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Middle East (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/)
-   -   Thoughts on Dubai (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/thoughts-dubai-596693/)

stormcooper Mar 10th 2009 7:42 pm

Thoughts on Dubai

I've browsed this forum for a long time and was close to accepting a job in Dubai, which would have started this last January. I declined it as the deal wasn't quite there, but since I work in the construction industry.....how lucky am I?

But over the last two years, I've made a number of business trips to the region (mainly Dubai) and had a couple of holidays there, including last week.

A few thoughts and points.......

One of the dailies said that $53bn of construction work has been put on hold or cancelled. I know that construction companies were recruiting one week, and firing the next.

On my last trip a few months ago, I got 7 Dirhams to the pound....last week I got 4.7. That meant a meal that cost me £40, was around £60 and a pint of Bud cost somewhere between £6-£7.

The papers claimed that shopping in the malls was 'brisk', but they have to be talking rubbish? The prices in the malls were about the same as the UK, whereas many electircal items were previously cheaper.

Rents have not dropped at all, and I assume that it's because many people are still locked into 6-12 month agreements? After rejecting a job because the deal wasn't sweet enough, i saw jobs advertised for fairly senior positions, paying nothing like the salary I was offered. I can only assume they are targetting anyone but British/Australian/American expats?