Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Thinking of Abu Dhabi...but not sure.

Thinking of Abu Dhabi...but not sure.

Old Jun 23rd 2009, 11:28 am
Just Joined

loutom123 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Thinking of Abu Dhabi...but not sure.

Hi everyone

My fiance and I are trying to plot our next move abroad. I work in construction and the middle east looks like the most likely place that we'll be able to get work. We've had a look around and of the places in the middle east we'd prefer Abu Dhabi. I'm looking for some advice on the following:

1. Is it an enjoyable place to stay?
2. Will she find it particularly restrictive (being a woman)?
3. What is the general cost of living for a couple? (I've seen stuff for families and schools etc on here but we're not in that bracket)
4. What are the things about AD that you would prefer to Dubai?
5. For people who work in construction; are you generally driving for hours to get to work or is it quite local to the main construction areas?
6. Is anyone looking for a QS??

I'd really appreciate any advice on this. We're both Scottish and have been living in the caribbean for a year so we're ready for a shock to the system, just want to get a good understanding of it.

Thanks
Old Jun 23rd 2009, 11:36 am
Is not impressed...

Aikman7981 is just really niceAikman7981 is just really niceAikman7981 is just really niceAikman7981 is just really niceAikman7981 is just really niceAikman7981 is just really niceAikman7981 is just really niceAikman7981 is just really niceAikman7981 is just really nice
Default Re: Thinking of Abu Dhabi...but not sure.